Furthermore

Alice Alexis Queensmeadow 12 rates three things most important: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. Father disappeared from Ferenwood with only a ruler, almost three years ago. But she will have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is Oliver whose own magic is based in lies and deceit. Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Welcome back to my reviews! I know I’ve been absent, especially in terms of reviews, but I have been reading and I do have a lot of reviews to type up. It’s just finding the time to write them up that’s driving me insane. But I’m gonna do my best to get these reviews, at the very least, out to you guys.

Now, onto the book! I have been wanting read this for forever, and I finally got my hands on it, and I…was wrecked. I love this book, and I am about to talk about it, so buckle in for the ride! Also, this is the first book by Tahereh Mafi that I have read, and I am very impressed. A+.

PROS: What Made Me Fall In Love!

themostwonderfulstory

  • The Writing. Oh. My. Gosh. The writing dragged me in. I am a huge fan of descriptive, lively prose, and I feel like this book really delivered. I really appreciated how the environment was explained and described by how the characters interacted with it. It was lovely.
  • The Believable Characters. I absolutely loved how real the characters are. They’re young, they’re immature, they make mistakes, they learn. It really felt like I watching actual children grow and adapt as they were faced with new challenges in life, and it helped immerse me in the story.
  • Correlations. Now, this might not be for everyone, but I adored that the story kind of reminded me of Alice in Wonderland, in a sense. I personally love that tale, so seeing connections to it in the book improved it for me.

CONS: Things That Make You Go ‘Huh?!”

huh

  • Confusing at Times. While the writing is quite lovely, sometimes it seemed to focus a bit to much on being pretty and less on actually describing what was going on. I found myself having to reread a few parts because I couldn’t decipher what on Earth was going on.
  • The Ending. While I was glad that some things got resolved, I think a more open ended ending would have been more satisfying. However, that’s my opinion, and if you liked the ending more, good on you!

Overall Rating: 4.5 stars!

I would highly recommend checking this book out, along with the companion novel that came out, so I’ve heard. Thank you for stopping by, and I will see you all next time!

 

Signed,

Well-Read Rebel

