The King in the Window

One January evening, eleven-year-old Oliver receives a vision in his bedroom window of a young boy in 17th century dress. This apparition informs him that he is the new King in the Window, a hero elected by kind window wraiths to assist them in their centuries-long war with the soul-stealing evil mirror spirits. Soon, Oliver finds himself in The Way, or the parallel universe on the other side of mirrors. Here, he engages in battle with the diabolical Master of Mirrors, chats with Nostradamus, and helps rescue an elderly Alice in Wonderland. In addition, there is a subplot concerning a super computer atop the Eiffel Tower! , An examination of 17th century French court life, and an on-going discussion of quantum physics.


I bought this book at a book sale for two dollars, which wasn’t half bad for such an interesting book. This book can’t really be compared to anything off the top of my head, because I’ve never read or heard of anything like this. Luckily, it was a book that held my attention endlessly, and although some things didn’t quite make sense, I would definitely read this again if I had the time.

Cons:

  • Oliver, our main character, is quite a passive kid. He doesn’t seem to really react to anything extraordinary in the book until we get pretty far in, around the middle.
  • Neige, another character in the book who Oliver is inexplicably drawn to. I really didn’t understand her appeal until the last act of the book. She was mean, aloof, and very pretentious. She acted like she was better than everyone, and what seemed to be an attempt at mystery just came off as confusing to both the characters and this reader.
  • Charlie, Oliver’s supposed best friend is rarely heard of until the middle of the book. I think he’s mentioned about three times before he actually begins to come into the story in a meaningful way. He is also very unlikable.
  • More telling than showing, which is a personal pet peeve of mine. Since everyone doesn’t share this preference, and I think it speaks for itself, I will say no more about it.
  • Very stiff sentence structure and dialogue at times. The characters didn’t really act their age.
  • A lot of unbelievability in times where there should be. Since this is a spoiler free review, I won’t go too much into it.

Pros:

  • The character growth, while slow coming, is there. The characters change for the better, making the story much more enjoyable.
  • The plot does pick up fast, so that makes the book seem to go by faster, even with the stilted writing at times.
  • The morals of the story weren’t shoehorned in or delivered awkwardly. It was a natural and satisfying inclusion.
  • Even with how much I nitpicked, this book has an amazing premise that was executed pretty well. The ending was amazing, in my opinion.

Overall Rating: 3/5 stars.

Thank you all for reading! I’m sorry that I’ve been gone for so long; I’ve been dealing with life and haven’t had much drive to update. There are four more reviews that are scheduled to come out this week, starting 7.17.2017, or Monday, July 17, 2017. I hope you all have a good weekend, and I’ll see you next time!

‘Till we meet again,

~Well-Read Rebel

