Good morning, everyone!

Today is Thanksgiving, and while it is not a favorite holiday of mine (mainly because how the history of it is twisted into some happy tale between the Native Americans and the colonists when it was anything but). Anyway, I tend to focus more on the being thankful part, and I figured, why not include books in the mix?

These books will not be in any sort of category, i.e. ‘books that had the most impact’, because that’s simply not how things are done here. Each book has a unique reason for my thanks.

Book 1: Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo by Obert Skye

So, I know a lot of people would put a Harry Potter book on this list, but I have never read it. I know, I know, blasphemy. But I do plan to sometime next year.

The Leven Thumps series was my Harry Potter. I actually didn’t even want to get this book; my mom was concerned because she thought I was reading books that were ‘too dark for my age’, so I just grabbed something off the shelf and pouted the whole way home.

As soon as I got home and cracked the book open, I was entranced. A book that I didn’t even want became a book that changed my whole world and inspired me to start writing. I reread it almost every year, and I love it each and every time.

leven-thumps

The next book is mostly nostalgia. I wouldn’t pick up this series again mainly because there are just so many books in the series I would never be able to catch up.

This was the first chapter book I ever read. It was in the first grade and I hid behind the dumpster at recess and read this in a week. I was tempted to never return it, but the librarian wouldn’t let me check out anything else so I was forced to.

And that book is Into the Wild by Erin Hunter.

warriors-into-the-wild

Okay, the last book is one that had a big impact on me mentally. Long story short, this book helped me realize the really real consequences of not getting the help that you need and trying to deal with it on your own. This book helped me realize that I wasn’t okay, and it pushed me to take the steps to be okay.

And that book is All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

all-the-bright-places

Okay, that is all I have for you lovely readers! I don’t really have time to add more and I wanted to get this posted today. Leave a comment telling me what books you’re thankful for and why, and I’ll see you all next time!

