Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event by The Broke and The Bookish, and since I am a new blog on the scene I thought it would be a good idea to involve myself in things like this so people reading this can get to know me and my tastes better, and come to like my blog.

This week’s theme is 10 books I’ve added to my TBR recently. There are a lot of books in my TBR, so narrowing down the ones I wanted to put in here was very difficult. I managed, however, so now I present to you my list.

  1. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. This book has been on my TBR for a good amount of time, and luckily for me it was one of the books on the independent reading list for my class! It’s about a boy named Amir and his servant, Hassan. It documents how their friendship grows and is subsequently torn apart by betrayal.
  2. The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett. This novella is a bit more lighthearted than the one above. It’s about the Queen Elizabeth and how she stumbles upon a mobile library. She soon discovers the liberating literary world, and the pleasures of the written word. This seems like a very interesting and fun read; I love reading about books and people who learn to enjoy them.
  3. Iron Cast by Destiny Soria. I have been meaning to diversify my reading tastes, not only with the characters but with genres as well, and this book looks really interesting. It’s about a girl in 1919 Boston, with the ability to create illusions through art. I don’t want to add to much from the synopsis just in case people want to read this for themselves, but it looks really good and I’ll make sure to do a review on it if/when I get my hands on it.
  4. Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine. I read Ink and Bone and can I just say I am so happy I own this book. Unfortunately, I cannot read it yet because I have too many books to read for school. One day, maybe. I won’t talk about it here in case people haven’t read Ink and Bone as to avoid accidentally spoiling someone.
  5. The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald. As stated above, I love reading books about books, bookshops, libraries, etc. So when I saw this pop up in Walmart I knew I had to read it. Unfortunately I had no money at the time, but I still intend to own it. This book is about a girl named Sara from Sweden who opens a bookstore in a sleepy little town called Broken Wheel, Iowa. It looks like a cute, inspiring read, and I can’t wait.
  6. The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg. About a young girl named Ceony with unique abilities such as animating paper creatures, making stories come to life, etc., and how she discovers the joys of magic. But it’s not all fine and dandy when an Excisioner comes on the scene-a practitioner of dark, flesh magic-and rips out her mentor’s heart. Ceony must retrieve it to save his life. This sounds like a dark but fascinating novel, and when I read it I’m confident that I will love it.
  7. Ash by Malinda Lo. I’m sorry, but who wouldn’t love a lesbian retelling of Cinderella? I sure do! With dark fairies and huntresses, this sounds like something I’ll thoroughly enjoy.
  8. Books, Blogs and Reality by Ryan Ringbloom. This is a book about book blogging. Of course I need to read this! This book also touches on how sometimes what you read in romance novels isn’t what’s going to appear in reality, and how each character handles this fact.
  9. The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George. A floating bookstore run by Monsieur Perdu. Left with a nothing but a letter from his lost love, he finally decides to open it years later. He goes on a journey to finally find closure and heal himself. It sounds a bit melodramatic, but I’d like to be proven wrong.
  10.  Lessons in Falling by Diana Gallagher. Savannah Gregory blows out her knee and her shot at a gymnastics scholarship, and decides afterwards to remain on the sidelines while her friend Cassie plans a memorable year. Until Cassie tries to kill herself. This book is about breaking away from people who may be holding you back, even if they’re important to you.

So, that was my first Top Ten Tuesday! I’m really excited to do more, so please leave feedback down below on ways I can improve my posts! If any of you have any ideas on what you want to see here, please tell me that as well!

Amazon Links:

The Kite Runner

The Uncommon Reader

Iron Cast

Paper and Fire

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend

The Paper Magician

Ash

Books, Blogs, and Reality

The Little Paris Bookshop

Lessons in Falling

