I don’t know about my other reader friends out there but as the seasons change,  I love to curl up with a book that correlates to the weather outside my window. It just seems to set the mood, you know? Does anyone else feel like that?

Imagine with me for a second: It’s fall, the leaves are changing, the pumpkin spice everything is coming out, and it’s time to get spooky.

Cracking open a book about the summertime during the spooky times seems like a wasted opportunity, in my opinion. Same for any other season. So I’m going to recommend a book for each season to you, and in the comments down below I would like you to leave more recommendations for us to enjoy!

Fall:

Ah, the time for pumpkins and ghouls and spirits to walk the earth! Happy Samhain and Halloween! For everyone who loves this time of year like me, I have a wonderfully spookerific read for you!

For my recommendation for this lovely season, I will be choosing:

slasher-girls-and-monster-boys

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys, stories chosen by April Genevieve Tucholke. It is a horror anthology with a lot of noteworthy authors such as Marie Lu of The Young Elites, Jay Kristoff of the Stormdancer series, and Leigh Bardugo of the Grisha Trilogy. I have read this book and gave it a 4.5/5 stars when I did. I think. Anyway, this book has some creepy elements along with some triggering ones such as self-harm in one of them; I was triggered by it, unfortunately, so please look out for that if you decide to pick it up.

Spring:

Spring, to me, is a time for new beginnings and rebirths of the world beginning anew. Cheesy, I know. For Spring I have chosen a light, fluffy read to fit the light mood of the season. The book of my choice is:

Uprooted.jpg

Uprooted by Naomi Novik is about a mysterious wizard who takes girls, and they have never been heard from again. That description is very, very vague and super simplistic, but I promise this standalone holds so much more than a simple kidnapping. The tale is original and lively, based on a Russian folktale. Please pick this up, even if it isn’t springtime.

Summer:

I am actually not the biggest fan of Summer for medical reasons, but I do love it still. When I think Summer, I think of the beach and fireflies and warm weather. I also think of adventure and sunlight and hope. So I wanted to pick a book to reflect that, and after a lot of deliberation, I chose:

leven-thumps

Leven Thumps and the Gateway to Foo by Obert Skye is about a boy named Leven who needs to journey to a world called Foo. He tags along with a sycophant named Clover and an ‘icy’ girl named Winter (you will need to read the book to get the pun). On the way, he learns that he needs to defeat an evil man called Sabine who is after him for reasons that Leven doesn’t know yet.

Winter:

 

Ah, the season of gift giving and peppermint! If you don’t celebrate Christmas, then happy holidays to you! As you can see, none of the books I have recommended have any emphasis on religion so everyone can read these stories and enjoy them.

For this cold winter’s night, I have chosen:

acotar

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. This book is wonderful. It’s about a girl named Feyre who kills a Fae, and then has to trade her life for that Fae. That’s a really, really basic description, but I don’t want to risk any spoilers. It takes place in Winter in the beginning, and it is also a Beauty and the Beast retelling.

Those are all my season recommendations! If you have any books you like to read in certain seasons, leave a comment down below and let me know to check them out!

